So this past week or so of gigs has certainly been a lively one for sure. Where shall I start off, welol I guess its best I start off with Last Saturday night and the visit of Sleaford Mods, if you ever imagined a snotty nosed working class version of Dan Le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip, with John Cooper Clarke style raging angry but yet at points utterly hilarious lyrics about working class life. 

support came from the rather fantastic doom sludge metal band Henry Blacker, who managed to dig up the remenance to early Melvins with big sludgy riffs and heavily distorted vocals. 

sunday saw me watch what i could only describe as A Randy Newman Look a like performing Crowded House style un emotive pop music, that was the worst of all rthings as non descript. You qwhen a band is not bad, infact they have good musicians but yet dont seem to have songs with any real sence of passion. Well this is what I whitnessed with Ron Pope. It felt about as emtionally charged as Christian rock show just felt too clean and drained of anything with any emotional quality. 

I mostly went because Wakey Wakey was supporting who at least seemed to have some emotional interaction with the audience where as it felt like Ron was putting on all his emotion.

 

Also opening up the Show was the beautiful voice of Alexz Johnson.

 

Monday saw me head down to a rather good local line-up of local talent featuring math indie rockers Tiers, Phill Collins sound alikes Moon Club 

About bigjeffbristol

I am someone from Bristol in England who is deeply obsessed with live music! its pretty much like an OCD styled obsession that means pretty much every night I am out. I like being down the fron for shows, because then I can feel the music pulsing through me and I am not going to lie to you, I like to dance a lot. Which can make me at times incredibly annoying because of being 6ft4 tall with blonde curly locks so I am the Thoroughly Annoying Blonde!. and I like to preach my geeky musical inertia to people!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment