Heather Leigh – Fairfield Fantasy

12248104_468746783336256_5414264099835576748_o

Heather Leigh is a Glaswegian singer slide guitarist who I dont know much about. so this post is done completely blind, but she is just about to put out an album called I Abused Animal on Stephen O’Malley’s label Ideological Organ.

If Fairfield Fantasy is anything to go by then it will be a record of beautifully lilting psychedelic folk. Fairfield Fantasy has wafts of gentle psychedelic warped melodies, that give the whole song a dreamy quality. Even with the plucking of the strings there is a kind of warped almost de tuned feeling.

Heather Leighs voice literally feels like as if it is leaping out of the speakers. Her voice has a very theatrical feel, like a highly strung version of Dead Can Dance, kind of operatic and largely expressive.

The grainy analogue quality of the recordings really play into the songs hypnotic atmosphere. It has the ghost like quality, which feels very spiritual and beautifully trance like.

 

About bigjeffbristol

I am someone from Bristol in England who is deeply obsessed with live music! its pretty much like an OCD styled obsession that means pretty much every night I am out. I like being down the fron for shows, because then I can feel the music pulsing through me and I am not going to lie to you, I like to dance a lot. Which can make me at times incredibly annoying because of being 6ft4 tall with blonde curly locks so I am the Thoroughly Annoying Blonde!. and I like to preach my geeky musical inertia to people!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment