The Week in Gigs, Black Submarine, East India Youth, Suzanne Vega, Fuck Buttons and Blurt!

Well hey its been another cracking week of gigs, its fair to say that there have been a fair few contenders foe gig of the year and including an early entrant for the Grooviest Granddad of the year. Where shall I start, well I guess the best place to start would be last Saturday, I found myself In The South Bank Centre in Southville for the very first time for a fundraising all day gig that boasted a very strong line-up boasting performances from the Likes of Trust Fund, Jelas, Expensive, Moats, The Middle Ones The Venue had a feeling of like being in a village hall, with the plush wooden floors and colourful decor, bunting and cut out figures along with food and lucky dip kind of felt like it was a local fate. Trust Funds headline set was brilliant, drawing nods from the likes of The Delgados, High Llamas and early Weezer delivering some quite brilliant slabs of slacker pop. The Jelas were their normal ram-shackled and highly un predictable selfs, with songs that dont really so much follow song structure as much as they simply make up more parts. Expensive brought out their Chvurches style lofi electronica.  Twee Folk of the Middle Ones  Last Sunday I watched one of the best metal bands in the world (in my opinion) Kylesa take on the Exchange with absolutely mind blowing sonic tour de force. The psychedelic sludgy Doom metal outfit from Georgia pummelled twin drummers, guitars and hypnotic vocals. Monday I saw ex Verve men Nick McCabe and Simon Jones play the Louisiana with their current project Black Submarine who seemed to create a sound not too unlike the early Verve materiel with Amelia Tucker providing a near perfect foil.   Tuesday I was back at the Louisiana to catch young up and coming producer and song writer East India Youth, a guy who first turned my head at End of The Road Festival. He is someone who has really creatively pushed out the boat mixing moments of pop genius with experimental ambience and intense ear burning noise.    Wednesday I was at the Colston Hall for a bit of a song writing master class from Suzanne Vega. I was lucky that a friend of mine had a ticket going spare that he was willing to give to me for free because I couldn’t afford the ticket price. It was an absolutely supreme display in both self belief and ultimate skill in telling stories, I was fighting to keep tears in my eye’s especially with some of her new materiel. everything was performed with real precision eve delivering some of her hits with a rearrangements of Toms Diner.

Thursday saw me completely freak out to Noise duo Fuck Buttons, a group formed by two ex UWE students, making ambitious and dense dance music that acts as a complete sensory overload. I was having hallucinations left right and centre because of the mixture of the sonic intensity and the big light show. It was pretty drilling. 

Support came from Invada records latest signing Cuts who were playing their debut home town show. They were really impressive mixture of cold trip hop and post rock which was rellay cool and creepy.

Friday saw me head to the Exchange to see the legendary jazz punk explosion that is Blurt, fronted by the ever spiritedly beat poetic lyricist and sax player and all round other worldly legend Ted Milton. its fair to say that Ted Milton gets the nod for the Grooviest Granddad, still busting out moves in his early 70’s.

A Pretty good week of gigs if you ask me!

About bigjeffbristol

I am someone from Bristol in England who is deeply obsessed with live music! its pretty much like an OCD styled obsession that means pretty much every night I am out. I like being down the fron for shows, because then I can feel the music pulsing through me and I am not going to lie to you, I like to dance a lot. Which can make me at times incredibly annoying because of being 6ft4 tall with blonde curly locks so I am the Thoroughly Annoying Blonde!. and I like to preach my geeky musical inertia to people!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to The Week in Gigs, Black Submarine, East India Youth, Suzanne Vega, Fuck Buttons and Blurt!

  1. Gutted I missed Suzanne Vega, butglad she was awesome. Cheers for the great blog, I’m heading straight from here to sign up to the Colston Hall mailing list!

Leave a comment