Marlon Williams at the Gallimaufry

CR2hXATWUAAEqsU

Last week I found myself up in the Gallimaufry up on Gloucester RD, where I happened to stubble across a young crooner by the name of Marlon Williams. I say I accidentally stumbled across him, but I was up there because my friend, the rather excellent Ema Sierra was supporting.

Marlon Williams is one of those singers whose voice defies his young age. taking in a wide range of influences from Roy Orbison, The Everly Brothers and Scot Walker through to Anthony Heggarty, James Vincent Mc Morrow and Justin Townes Earl into his own fusion.

The New Zealander definitely felt at home with the Gallimaufry’s comfy setting. Standing solitary with his big chunky acoustic guitar, his warm voice rattled within the buildings walls. Opening with a note so pure that you could feel everybody’s heart stop.

Hem played a mixture of his own songs taken from his debut album and few choice covers from The Ink Spots, Towns Van Zant and Ewan Maccoll

About bigjeffbristol

I am someone from Bristol in England who is deeply obsessed with live music! its pretty much like an OCD styled obsession that means pretty much every night I am out. I like being down the fron for shows, because then I can feel the music pulsing through me and I am not going to lie to you, I like to dance a lot. Which can make me at times incredibly annoying because of being 6ft4 tall with blonde curly locks so I am the Thoroughly Annoying Blonde!. and I like to preach my geeky musical inertia to people!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment