Malawi Mouse Boys – NDINASANGALALA – (I Was Happy)

Last week I witnessed what might be some quite monumental piece of history unfold in front of my eyes at Womad festival last weekend! I don’t know how to word this but this band, had never played on a stage in their own town or even their own country and they had never left their own little village. So they played to roughly 15- 20,000 people and they left pretty much everyone stunned almost speechless!.

Ladies and Gentlemen I give you The Malawi Mouse Boys, a band who got their name because they try and scrape what ever money they can by catching and selling Mice on sticks because its the only meat that they can catch in the Barron waste lands of Malawi. They were discovered by one of the guys from Tinawirens management team and were instantly snapped up.

They are effectively a Malawian gospel group and what I like about this song is that it represents the pure joy of music. Sometimes we are guilty of over complicating music so it looks cool and becomes very self concious, where as The Malawi Mouse Boys are one of those groups that very much represent the pure beating heart of music,.

Watching this band did have a really over powering effect on me. For their 2nd show I was crying because it was hard not to feel moved, because they came out with more passion energy and joy then most bands can shake a stick at. Every no and again they act as perfect remind of the true power of music, because lest we forget its the most powerful language in the world.

About bigjeffbristol

I am someone from Bristol in England who is deeply obsessed with live music! its pretty much like an OCD styled obsession that means pretty much every night I am out. I like being down the fron for shows, because then I can feel the music pulsing through me and I am not going to lie to you, I like to dance a lot. Which can make me at times incredibly annoying because of being 6ft4 tall with blonde curly locks so I am the Thoroughly Annoying Blonde!. and I like to preach my geeky musical inertia to people!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Malawi Mouse Boys – NDINASANGALALA – (I Was Happy)

  1. Tim says:

    Really great review! I was their too clapping and singing along at both performances. I completely agree with what you said about over complicating music and it made me feel guilty for doing such in my own music. But overall my heart was warmed by the message, energy and performance by the band.

Leave a comment